stoictrader

Charts, 2013 – Week 31

In Charts on July 28, 2013 at 6:39 pm

I’m having some technical difficulties with my charting platform, so cannot post the normal charts this week; instead these are weekly and daily volatility stops which I am studying for incorporating into my strategy.  The indicator calculates a 5-period Average True Range and plots a line 3ATR away.  After price closes on the opposite side of the indicator, it flips from bullish (green) to bearish (red).  I was introduced to this by @debrink who learned it from Sylvan Vervoort (http://stocata.org/) .  I hope to do a longer post about it in the future.

1. GBPUSD weekly

2013 07 28 gbpusd w1b

GBPUSD daily

2013 07 28 gbpusd d1b

2. EURGBP weekly

2013 07 28 eurgbp w1b

EURGBP daily

2013 07 28 eurgbp d1b

3. EURUSD weekly

2013 07 28 eurusd w1b

EURUSD daily

2013 07 28 eurusd d1b

More charts below including AUDJPY, AUDUSD, USDCAD, USDJPY

4. AUDJPY weekly

2013 07 28 audjpy w1b

AUDJPY daily

2013 07 28 audjpy d1b

5. AUDUSD weekly

2013 07 28 audusd w1b

AUDUSD daily

2013 07 28 audusd d1b

6. USDCAD

2013 07 28 usdcad w1b

7. USDJPY

2013 07 28 usdjpy w1b

– – –

Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/StoicTrader

A word about the charts: On Sundays I tend to look at weekly OHLC bar charts and watch for a few things: classic chart patterns, channels, support/resistance, moving averages, and sometimes candle patterns.  I post a few that seem most relevant to me. I don’t necessarily trade based on weeklies, but they help me understand context and are useful to consult before trading in the lower timeframes.  I am always amazed how insignificant 300 pip moves look on a weekly chart.

A heptagram of currency crosses that I follow:

Heptagram 9

– – -Anything below here is an unaffiliated advertisement – – –

Leave a Reply

