stoictrader

Charts, 2012 – Week 11

In Charts on March 11, 2012 at 3:14 pm

A collection of weekly charts that I am looking at in advance of the 11th week of 2012.

1a.GBPUSD (weekly)

1b. GBPUSD (daily)

2. EURUSD

3. USDCAD

4.AUDCAD

Three more charts below the fold including EURCHF, NZDUSD, and Silver XAGUSD

5.EURCHF

6. NZDUSD

7.Silver XAGUSD

– – –

A word about the charts: On Sundays I tend to look at weekly OHLC bar charts and watch for three things: classic chart patterns, support/resistance, and channels.  If nothing jumps out at me, I look at weekly candle charts with bollinger bands (2 std dev) and/or moving average convergence for EMAs of 10-200 bars, or SMA50-200 crossovers.  Some charts I post will be OHLC and others will be candle/bollinger or MAs, whichever seems most relevant to me. I don’t necessarily trade based on weeklies, but the help me understand context.  I am always amazed how insignificant 300 pip moves look on a weekly chart.

A favourite quote about weekly patterns from Peter Brandt:   “chart patterns in the 12 to 16 week zone are quite reliable, while patterns of lesser duration tend to fail much more frequently.”

  1. […] Charts, 2012 – Week 11 (Stoic Trading) […]

Leave a Reply

